Skip to content

UA Professors Named Named to Academy of Master Surgeon Educators

PCMS Members and University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson surgery professors Leigh Neumayer, MD and James McClenathan MD  are among 91 surgeons from seven nations selected to the new American College of Surgeons (ACS) Academy of Master Surgeon Educators.

New academy members are selected through a rigorous peer-review process and induction into the academy is a very high honor, recognizing surgeons who have devoted their careers to surgical education.

Dr. Neumayer, also a professor in the department, is a renowned breast cancer surgeon. She is past president of the Association for Surgical Education and has been recognized nationally for her contributions as a surgical educator and advocate for women in medicine. She also is the current chair of the Board of Regents for the ACS. Dr. McClenathan practices as a general surgeon, specializing in soft-tissue masses, gallbladder removal and other general laparoscopic procedures. His research interests include surgical education and Burkitt’s lymphoma. Before joining the UA in 2008, Dr. McClenathan was affiliated with Stanford University.  Both physicians perform surgery and instruct UA medical students and surgical residents at Banner – University Medical Center Tucson and Banner – University Medical Center South.

“I am pleased that Drs. Neumayer and McClenathan have been recognized with this distinction,” said Irving L. Kron, MD, interim dean of the UA College of Medicine – Tucson. “I can think of no surgeons more deserving of this award. I am proud that our faculty members continue to ask questions and are devoted to exploring and improving surgical education.”

As master surgeon educators, Drs. Neumayer and McClenathan will work closely with the ACS Division of Education to advance the science and practice of avant-garde surgical education and training. In addition to supporting the mission and goals of the academy, members must participate in academy programs and activities.

Drs. Neumayer and McClenathan attended the academy’s formal Oct. 3 induction ceremony at the John B. Murphy Memorial Auditorium in Chicago.

Back To Top